Vita Gazette

News from Italy

Nobel Peace Prize went to dissident journalists!

Vita gazette – Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov won the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize. The announcement was made in Oslo by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee. Berit Reiss-Andersen said that Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov were awarded “for their brave fight for freedom of expression in the Philippines and Russia.” He said that free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda. And he noted that both journalists are representatives of these ideals.                                            

                                          Maria Ressa                                  Dmitry Muratov

Dmitry Muratov has been the editor-in-chief of the Russian investigative newspaper Novaya Gazeta since 1995, when Russian journalist Anna Politkovskaya was killed in 2006. Novaya Gazeta, founded by Muratov, was described by the Committee to Protect Journalists as “the only truly critical newspaper with national influence in Russia today”. Muratov, the director of Novaya Gazeta, is known as a name that refuses to give up on the policy of the Russian magazine, which defends the independence and rights of journalists. Muratov became the third Russian to receive the Nobel Peace Prize, after Andrey Sakharov and Mikhail Gorbachev.

Born in Manila, the capital city of the Philippines, Maria Ressa started her career as a journalist for public television in 1987. He then worked as an investigative reporter at CNN International for 18 years. In 2012, together with three women journalists, she founded Rappler, which employs nearly 100 journalists. Rappler “uses free speech to expose abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism” in the Philippines.

The Peace Prize was awarded for the 102nd time. Previous winners include Nelson Mandela, Martin Luther King, Polish dissident Lech Walesa, the late Soviet Union leader Mikhail Gorbachev and four US presidents.

The last Nobel Peace Prize awarded to a journalist dates back to 2016. The winner was the Colombian politician, journalist and economist Juan Manuel Santos Calderón, who was President of Colombia from August 7, 2010 to August 7, 2018. Among the winners of the Nobel Peace Prizes is an Italian: Ernesto Teodoro Moneta in 1907.

error: Content is protected !!